Top Five Tuesday: Top 5 Books With Buildings or Vehicles on The Cover

Title Card: Top Five Tuesdays - Books with buildings/vehicles on the cover

This month’s theme for Top Five Tuesday is scavenger hunt-ish, where each week there is a different theme based on covers. Today’s Top Five Tuesday prompt is top five books with buildings or vehicles on the cover.” Top Five Tuesday was started by Shanah @ Bionic Book Worm and is now hosted by Meeghan @ Meeghan Reads

This week’s post almost didn’t happen because I gave up a few times–mostly due to frustration caused by book #4 (see below)–but the scavenger hunt nature of the theme made it too fun to give up on. As usual, I’m putting cover over content in this month’s lists. 

1. A Thousand Pieces of You, Claudia Gray

Rating: 2 out of 5.

Genres: YA Fiction, SFF, Romance, Contemporary

Every Day meets Cloud Atlas in this heart-racing, space- and time-bending, epic new trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray. A Thousand Pieces of You explores a reality where we witness the countless other lives we might lead in an amazingly intricate multiverse, and ask whether, amid infinite possibilities, one love can endure.”

I was initially thinking about skipping this week because covers with buildings/vehicles is a surprisingly obscure category, but then I remembered the Firebird trilogy and legit made this whole post so I could gush about the cover art. I love the mirrored images of different settings and the water color-esque backgrounds. The cover of A Thousand Pieces of You is my person favorite because of the contrast between the modern skyscrapers and Russian architecture and the grey-teal/magenta-purple color scheme is so pretty 😍 Time travel and I don’t really get along and the only multiverse I really like so far is the one with a million SpiderMen, so I didn’t end up making my way through the Firebird trilogy, but I still think it has the best cover art.

2. Kisses and CroissantsAnne-Sophie Jouhanneau 

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary, Romance

“As sweet as a macaron from Laduree, with writing as crisp as a freshly baked baguette. This romantic novel set in Paris about an American ballerina and a charming French boy is parfait for fans of American Royals and Netflix’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.”

I wasn’t sure if I could think of any books with vehicles, but then I remembered the cover for Kisses and Croissants. I’m a huge fan of teal and pastel and love the hand-lettered title. The illustrated Vespa and the picnic basket with the baguette peeking out is the cutest, and I literally just realized it’s shadow is the Eifel Tower?! I’m craving a croissant now…

Review: Life is Like a Bag of Croissants (Kisses and Croissants – Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau)

3. XOXO, Axie Oh

Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary

“Jenny’s never had much time for boys, K-pop, or really anything besides her dream of being a professional cellist. But when she finds herself falling for a K-pop idol, she has to decide whether their love is worth the risk. A modern forbidden romance wrapped in the glamorous and exclusive world of K-pop, XOXO is perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Maurene Goo.”

Okay, so technically I think the couple in the middle is supposed to be the main focal point of the design, but there are a million buildings in that gorgeous background and they extend to the back. I didn’t even know what XOXO was about when I started requesting its ARC like crazy, but I knew I had to read it because is so pretty. I still haven’t read it yet, but the vibes 😩

4. The Thousandth Floor, Katharine McGee

Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Thriller/Suspense

The Thousandth Floor is debut author Katharine McGee’s first book in a sumptuous, juicy trilogy about a glittering future where anything is possible—if you want it enough.”

So funny story, I literally spent over an hour yesterday trying to find this book without success. All I remembered was this gorgeous cover with a silver skyscraper set against a black background with pretty lettering. I could picture the exact spot I’ve seen it in the library but could not for the life of me remember the title or anything else about it. (I still have no idea what the book is about but want to read it because pretty covers.) After many random internet searches (you can see my desperation growing as you go down my search history,) I gave up and even considered abandoning this post, but today I was looking for pics to add and lo and behold there was the cover I was looking for. I not only found the book, I found out it’s part of a series with three amazing covers. The modern minimalistic vibe, the title font (I love pretty cursive,) and

5. (-ish)

So I ended up with three books that aren’t quite my top five but also a blank spot because I couldn’t think of one more, so I’m gonna kinda combine all three so I don’t have to choose.

a) Along for the Ride, Sarah Dessen

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary, Romance

“Nights have always been Auden’s time, her chance to escape everything that’s going on around her. Then she meets Eli, a fellow insomniac, and he becomes her nocturnal tour guide. Now, with an endless supply of summer nights between them, almost anything can happen. . . .In her signature pitch-perfect style, Sarah Dessen explores the hearts of two lonely people learning to connect.”

When I was thinking of potential books for this post, I could only come up with a very short list of covers with a vehicle or building. Along for the Ride was one of the first books I thought of (The Oxford English Dictionary defines a vehicle as “a thing used for transporting people or goods, especially on land,” so a bike totally counts.) The cover is nice, but I don’t know if I would go so far as to say it’s my favorite. It’s pretty basic–guy, girl, bike–and I’m not sure how I feel about the retro vibes. There’s a new edition with a teal cover, that I’m also just kind “eh” about.

Rating: 1 out of 5.

b. The Rest of the Story, Sarah Dessen

Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary, Romance

The Rest of the Story is a big-hearted, sweeping novel about a girl who reconnects with a part of her family she hasn’t known since she was a little girl—and falls in love, all over the course of a magical summer, from #1 New York Times bestselling author Sarah Dessen.”

So while I was looking for a picture of Along for the Ride, I found this new edition of The Rest of the Story. I always think of Sarah Dessen as the queen of summer reads, and this illustrated cover captures the summer vibes so well. Sitting on a dock by the by watching the sunset under a string of fairy lights? Love it. The only problem is the boat is teeny tiny and probably not something I would choose for “book with a vehicle on the cover.”

c. Just Last NightMhairi McFarlane 

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, Women’s Fiction

“International bestseller Mhairi McFarlane explores lifelong friendships, long-buried secrets, and unexpected love in a heartfelt, emotional new novel, perfect for fans of Evvie Drake Starts Over, The Two Lives of Lydia Bird, or In Five Years.

So this is a book that has a vehicle on the cover, but I’m not a huge fan of the cover. I do love the content though?

Review: should be up in a few days!


Any other suggestions for the list? (Also, if any fellow book bloggers know how to embed IG posts without captions on WordPress, help a girl out 😭)

5 comments

  1. I’m so pleased you didn’t end up skipping this week!! You have so many beautiful covers to share on this topic!! I especially love the Firebird trilogy, Kisses and Croissants and XOXO. Hope you had fun this week 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Meeghan! I’m glad I ended up doing it because this week was so fun ♥ I actually ended up finding more books with buildings/vehicles as soon as I posted this, but I’m still pretty happy with my list. The Firebird trilogy covers are the best 😍😭

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s