New Title Tuesday: Gilded – Marissa Meyer

Title card: New Title Tuesday - Hosted By Bilbiosmile

Happy Tuesday everyone! In case Top Five/Ten Tuesday’s weren’t enough, I’ve jumped onto the New Title Tuesday bandwagon and will occasionally be participating in yet another weekly book meme that takes place on Tuesdays.

New Title Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by Bibliosmile where readers discuss (read: fangirl over) the most exciting book releases hitting the shelves each week. I’ll only be participating on weeks when I have a new release I’m particularly excited about, but between this and Top Multiple of Five’s Tuesdays, I think it’s safe to say I’ll have plenty of material for Tuesdays for the foreseeable future.

This week’s new title is…

Gilded by Marissa Meyer

Despite my mixed feelings about her superhero series, I absolutely love Marissa Meyers retellings and not just because I love retellings (which I do.)

I kept waiting for a Heartless sequel because I somehow missed it was a standalone and because I wanted more of Catherine’s story. The Little Android is my favorite short story, and I keep waiting for my on-screen adaptation of the Lunar Chronicles. So when I heard Meyer was “returning to the fairytale world with a haunting retelling of Rumpelstiltskin,” I was ecstatic. I don’t usually buy books I haven’t read (yay for local libraries,) but I’m so excited about Gilded I used some rewards points I had to nab a free copy. October was such a crazy month I somehow missed the fact that today was the pub date until I saw a caption-full of emojis pop up on my newsfeed, so I guess I’m back to stalking the mailman and compulsively checking my mailbox until it comes.

What is Gilded About?

Long ago cursed by the god of lies, a poor miller’s daughter has developed a talent for spinning stories that are fantastical and spellbinding and entirely untrue.

Or so everyone believes.

When one of Serilda’s outlandish tales draws the attention of the sinister Erlking and his undead hunters, she finds herself swept away into a grim world where ghouls and phantoms prowl the earth and hollow-eyed ravens track her every move. The king orders Serilda to complete the impossible task of spinning straw into gold, or be killed for telling falsehoods. In her desperation, Serilda unwittingly summons a mysterious boy to her aid. He agrees to help her… for a price. Love isn’t meant to be part of the bargain.

Soon Serilda realizes that there is more than one secret hidden in the castle walls, including an ancient curse that must be broken if she hopes to end the tyranny of the king and his wild hunt forever.

Amazon Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Indie Bound | Indigo


What new YA releases are you excited about this week?

5 comments

Leave a comment